Theriot, Burchfield lead area 9-3A all-district selections

Shelby Bergeron (The Daily Review/File Photos)

Coach Lloyd Burchfield

Maddie Gray

Brooke Hotard

Sydney Jambois

Jordan Lipari

Shannon Theriot

Maria Trevino

Rachel Easley

East St. Mary Parish District 9-3A squads were well represented on the all-district softball teams, including the district’s Most Valuable Player and Co-District Coach of the Year.
Berwick’s Shannon Theriot was named district Most Valuable Player, while her coach, Lloyd Burchfield, was named the district’s Co-Coach of the Year along with E.D. White’s Linda Sanders.
Theriot, a junior and University of Louisiana at Lafayette softball commitment, batted .739 in district. Her batting average was 0.072 higher than any other player on the district squads.
Burchfield and Sanders, whose teams tied for the District 9-3A championship with 7-1 records. The teams split their two meetings in district.
The Lady Panthers outscored their District 9-3A opponents 104-27.
Other Berwick representatives on the first team were pitchers Sydney Jambois and Shelby Bergeron, second baseman Brooke Hotard, outfielder Maria Trevino and utility players Maddie Gray and Jordan Lipari.
Patterson was represented on the first team by third baseman Rachel Easley.
Patterson second-team selections included pitcher Taylor Hall, first baseman Gaylen Grogan, second baseman Carli McIntyre, outfielder Lucy Bennett and utility player Ashley Bonilla.
Berwick’s second-team selections included third baseman Rennen Delatte, outfielder Olivia Gilbert and utility players Regan Bowers, Emma Hover, Mary Jordan Melancon and Caroline Osburn
Academic all-district selections for the Lady Panthers were Trevino, Gilbert, Hotard and Gray, while Patterson’s selections were Easley, McIntyre and Casey Stephens.
Below are the complete teams:

First Team
Pitcher: Avery Sanders, E.D. White (3-1) ; Mackenzie Gros, EDW (3-0); Sydney Jambois, Berwick (4-0); and Shelby Bergeron, Berwick (3-1).
Catcher: Sydney Falcon, EDW (.667)

First Base: Lindsie Sanders, EDW (.579)

Second Base: Brooke Hotard, Berwick (.333)

Third Base: Rachel Easley, Patterson (.579)

Shortstop: Kali Clement, EDW (.524)

Outfield: Emily Sauce, EDW (.438); Shannon Theriot, Berwick (.739); and Maria Trevino, Berwick (.583).

Utility Player: Dy’Reante Notto, Franklin (.300); Sydney Bordis, EDW (.269); Triston Gros, EDW (.550); Courtney Amedee, EDW (.231); Maddie Gray, Berwick (.440); and Jordan Lipari, Berwick (.500).

D.P.: Anna Rodenberg, EDW (.625)
District MVP
Shannon Theriot, Berwick

District Co-Coaches of the Year
Linda Sanders, EDW and Lloyd Burchfield, Berwick

Second Team
Pitcher: Taylor Hall, Patterson (4-4)

Catcher: Hailey Sehon, Patterson (.525)

First Base: Gaylen Grogan, Patterson (.429)

Second Base: Carli McIntyre, Patterson (.375)

Third Base: Rennen Delatte, Berwick (.391)

Outfield: Lucy Bennett, Patterson (.375); Olivia Gilbert, Berwick (.315); and Gabi LeBlanc, EDW (.200)

Utility Player: Ashley Bonilla, Patterson (.267); Ambrosia Johnson, Donaldsonville; My’Asia Johnson, Franklin (.230); Regan Bowers, Berwick (.434); Emma Hover, Berwick (.455); Bobbi Lynn Grabert, EDW (.200); Mary Jordan Melancon, Berwick; and Caroline Osburn, Berwick
D.P.: Kimberly Phillips, Franklin (.600)

Academic All-District
Berwick: Maria Trevino, Olivia Gilbert, Brooke Hotard and Maddie Gray.

Donaldsonville: Kaitlyn Cavette and Paige Mitchell.

E.D. White: Emily Sauce

Patterson: Rachel Easley, Carli McIntyre and Casey Stephens

Follow Us

Subscriber Links