Voters turned out early today

Leslie Burke exits the voting booth after voting at Patterson High School.
(The Daily Review Photo by Crystal Thielepape)


Voters began turning up early this morning to cast their ballots and voting continues until 8 p.m., Jolene Holcombe, St. Mary Parish registrar of voters, said.
Holcombe said her office had gotten numerous phone calls by 8 a.m. from precinct commissioners seeking assistance in locating where voters are supposed vote. The call volume remained heavy through 11 a.m., she said.
Voters can check their polling place by using the GeauxVote Mobile app for smartphones or by visiting Sample ballots and real-time election results also can be viewed in both places.
Voters should bring a photo identification with them to vote (Louisiana driver’s license, Louisiana special identification card or another generally recognized picture identification card with name and signature such as a passport). Voters without an ID will be required to fill out an affidavit, but will be allowed to vote.
Polls close at 8 p.m. Anyone in line at 8 p.m. will be allowed to vote.
“We anticipate a strong turnout on Tuesday across the state,” Secretary of State Tom Schedler said in a news release.
There are 33,498 registered voters in St. Mary Parish. Of them, Holcombe said there are 16,441 Democrats, 8,130 Republicans and 8,927 registered as something other than the two major parties.
The following issues are on the ballot in St. Mary Parish:
—United States Senator.
—United States Representative, 3rd Congressional District.
—Judge, 16th Judicial District, Election Section 1, Division G & H.
—Judge, 16th Judicial District, Election Section 2, Division A.
—Justice of the Peace, Wards 2, 5, 7, 8 and 10.
—Constable, Wards 4, 5, 9 and 10.
—Mayor, Town of Baldwin.
—Aldermen, Town of Baldwin (five to be elected).
—Chief of Police, Town of Baldwin.
—Mayor, Town of Berwick.
—Councilmen, Town of Berwick (five to be elected).
—Mayor, City of Patterson.
—Councilmembers, City of Patterson (five to be elected).
—Chief of Police, City of Patterson.
—St. Mary Parish School Board Member, District 9.
—Constitutional Amendments (14).
—Parishwide Home Rule Charter Amendments Propositions (four).

Follow Us

Subscriber Links